Organised by the Guild of Architectural Ironmongers (GAI) in conjunction with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the biennial AI Specification Awards identify and reward excellence in the specification of architectural ironmongery in the construction industry.

Celebrating their 40th anniversary, the AI Specification Awards returned bigger and better than ever in 2022, culminating in a prestigious awards event in London's Leadenhall Building on Thursday 5 May.

Following the postponement of the 2021 awards, the judging panel was assessing projects completed and products launched over the previous three years. Entries were judged on the effectiveness of the architectural ironmongery specification and how it enhances the security, accessibility and safety of the building, while also adding to its aesthetics, functionality and longevity.

The AI Specification Awards consist of the following categories:

  • Commercial and Hospitality (sponsored by ASSA Abloy)
  • Public Health and Education (sponsored by Forza Doors)
  • Residential (sponsored by Frank Allart)
  • International (sponsored by dormakaba)
  • Product Design and Innovation – Mechanical (sponsored by Simonswerk)
  • Product Design and Innovation – Electronic (sponsored by ADSA)

For each category there was a first placed project or product, with any additional commendations awarded at the judges' discretion.

All of the category winners were then put forward to the 'Winner of Winner' category (sponsored by GEZE).

To mark the 40th anniversary of the AI Specification Awards, a special Jubilee Award (sponsored by Eurobond Doors) was presented to the standout project from across the decades.


Read more about the day, including who won the awards in each category, on our news pages here >>

Find out more about each winning entry here on the winners page >>

You can experience the sights and sounds of the event by watching the short film below.

Or visit our photo gallery here >>


No content found

No content found