Architectural Ironmongery Specification Awards

Architectural Ironmonger Specification Awards

Rewarding architectural excellence

Organised by the Guild of Architectural Ironmongers (GAI) in conjunction with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA),the biennial Specification Awards identify and reward excellence in the specification of architectural ironmongery in residential buildings, commercial buildings, public sector health and education buildings, hospitality buildings and in International projects outside the UK and Ireland.

Architectural ironmongers, architects, contractors and building owners have nominated projects in accordance with the different award categories. Nominations have shown architectural ironmongery at its best; enhancing not only the security, accessibility and safety of the building, but also adding to its functionality and longevity. Each award is made to the whole specification team – both AI and architect – highlighting the importance of the professional partnership between the two disciplines. 

The most recent awards took place on 30th March 2017 at the RIBA Head Office in London. For more information of the successful projects, please take a look at the Winners Supplement.


There are five categories:

Commercialoffices, industrial buildings, government buildings including prisons, pharmaceutical facilities, warehousing and leisure buildings.
Public Health & Education

hospitals, health centres, care homes, rehabilitation centres, retirement homes and other health care facilities.

schools, further education properties, universities, student accommodation.

Hospitalityhotels, lodges, clubs
Residentialhigh end residential, apartments, tower blocks (flats), special housing
Internationalall entries, for any of the above categories, for projects outside of UK and Ireland.

Winner of Winners

Awards will be available in each category for : 


2nd Place

3rd Place

The judges will also be deciding upon an overall “Winner of Winners”.