AI Specification Awards 2019


Projects can be nominated for the AI Specification Awards by architects, specifiers, building contractors, clients and their architectural ironmongery advisers across the world.

Buildings are judged on the effectiveness of the architectural ironmongery specification and how it enhances the security, accessibility and safety of the building, whilst also adding to its aesthetics, functionality and longevity. The AI Specification Awards consist of the following five categories:

NEW - Product design and innovation award
Sponsored by Allgood plc
For new products in door hardware, window hardware, access control, door automation or any field allied to architectural ironmongery.
Commercial and Hospitality award
Sponsored by ASSA ABLOY
Offices, industrial buildings, government buildings including prisons, pharmaceutical facilities, warehousing, leisure buildings, hotels, lodges, clubs.
Public Health and Education award
Sponsored by Forza Doors Ltd
Hospitals, surgeries, retirement care homes and other healthcare facilities. Schools, further education, universities and student accommodation.
Residential award
Sponsored by Frank Allart & Co Ltd
High end residential, apartments, tower blocks (flats), special housing.
International award
Sponsored by dormakaba
All entries, for any of the above categories, for projects outside of UK and Ireland.

To enter, projects or products must be:

  • Either completed or released on to the market between 1st October 2016 and 30th September 2018.
  • Submitted to the GAI for judging by Friday 16th November 2018.
  • For each category in the awards there will be a first, second and third placed project. The judges will also decide on an overall ‘Winner of Winners' award, sponsored by GEZE UK, for the best overall project.
    AI Specification Awards 2019 - Sponsors